About Student Selects

The Arkansas Educational Television Network's "Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase" is a program for kindergarten through 12th grade students, created to highlight the bright future of Arkansas's youngest filmmakers.

We encourage all types of submissions! Categories include: documentary, narrative (short or full-length fiction film or sitcom, etc.), animation (hand-drawn, Claymation, Flash, stop-motion, etc.) and music videos, but what you submit is only limited to your creativity and imagination.

Additionally, 2016 will the first year the Arkansas Historic Places Student Film Prize will be awarded to the best student-made documentary about any historically significant place in Arkansas. Prizes will be awarded based on geographical location of the subject matter. There are five categories: the Ozarks, the Ouachitas, the Arkansas River Valley, the Timberlands and the Delta.

Winners in each of these categories will receive $100, and there will be an overall prize winner who will receive $200. To compete for this prize, simply check the box on your entry form indicating your film is also entered into the Arkansas Historic Places Student Film Prize

Our main stipulation is that in all of the submissions students played key roles in the development and production of each project.

For information on Young Filmmakers Scholarships, click here.

Entries must be received by AETN by March 31, 2017. Winners will be announced in May.

The program, now in its ninth year, premieres chosen films on AETN and on AETN.org to extend the life of the films and allow people from across the state and beyond to access the work.

Additionally, AETN hosts youth filmmaking events and screenings at the Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival and the Spring Creek Festival.

If you know a student or are a student whose media project meets these criteria please submit it for consideration! For more information please contact Project Director Casey Sanders at 501-682-4190 or csanders@aetn.org.