Student Selects Rules and Guidelines

  • Students must be a public, private or home school student in Arkansas.
  • Formats and genres include, but are not limited to: narrative, documentary, music video and PSA.
  • Presentations in other forms, like PowerPoint, will not be accepted.
  • Films can be any length. With the exception of the "Arkansas Historic Places Student Film Prize."
  • Submissions must be provided digitally. The two-step process includes a completed submission form and an uploaded video. If you cannot deliver your film digitally please contact Casey Sanders at
  • Students must agree to the terms and conditions stated below.
  • Students must adhere to the rules of each individual contest you are entering. See Special Rules and Guidelines.

Terms and Conditions

AETN reserves the right to flag and edit any program that has sensitive content. The flag categories are "sex," violence," and "language." There is an additional distinction between real and dramatic violence. Examples of flags include, but are not limited to, sexual situations, dramatic/real dead bodies, and offensive language.

AETN may distribute the program in its entirety, including any and all titles and credits, at its discretion, or preempt its scheduled release for any reason.

The producer grants "AETN Student Selects" the non-exclusive rights to reproduce any part of the film and to exhibit the film by any medium for the purposes of broadcast/screening or its promotion. This includes its online distribution through the AETN website and/or a third party, such as YouTube.

In addition the producer guarantees that he/she has obtained all the necessary permissions and clearances to enter this film and that the film and all of its elements and/or screening of the film does not infringe on the copyrights of any third party. Any claims made by any person or entity against the film, actors, crew, locations, or any other party are entirely the responsibility of the producer. The producer also assures guidelines specified on this page.

Special Rules and Guidelines

Arkansas Historic Places Student Film Prize

The Arkansas Historic Places Student Film Prize sponsored by the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program and the Arkansas Humanities Council in partnership with AETN honors documentaries made by high school students about a historic property that is at least fifty years old or older. Sites do not have to be listed on the National Register of Historic Places, although they may be, but must be a building, archeological site, or other site with historic significance.

A prize will also be provided by Preserve Arkansas for winning films focusing on properties currently on the Most Endangered Places list.

  • Students must be in grades 5-12
  • Films must be 5 to 15 minutes in length.
  • Films must be non-fiction.
  • Formats include, but are not limited to, video, animation, stop-motion, and Claymation.
  • Films must focus in some way on a historic site in the state of Arkansas that is 50 years old or older.
  • Presentations in other forms, like PowerPoint, will not be accepted.

Thea Foundation Young Filmmaker Scholarships

The Thea Foundation is designed to help kids find confidence, self-worth and perspective through creative expression. A $2,500 scholarships is available for each of the following categories: Screenwriting, Directing, Cinematography, and Editing. Scholarships will be awarded to the student's institution of choice, regardless of planned major, GPA or test scores.

Thea scholarships are awarded solely on talent, never test scores, GPAs or intent to major in the arts. Your scholarship will travel with you to any college you attend, but if you choose to attend one of their more than 20 education partners (see below) your scholarship could be matched with additional scholarship money.

  • The Thea scholarship is open to students who attend public, private, charter or home schools, as well as those who have completed their GED.
  • Students must guarantee that they were the sole performer of the selected category while creating their films.
  • Students must be a graduating senior of 2018 to be eligible for the Thea Scholarship.
  • Films can be any length.
  • You are also required to include a short essay (500 word minimum) explaining your process creating this piece.

More Information about Thea Scholarships

  • Who May Apply
    Entrants must be currently completing 12th grade in Arkansas. Public, private and home school students as well as those who have completed their GED are included. Only high school seniors enrolled in either public, private or home schools in Arkansas are eligible to register for a Thea Foundation Scholarship Competition. A high school senior means any student who is currently completing the 12th grade in public or private school or any home school student who lists the 11th grade as their last grade level completed on their Notice of Intent to Home School on file with the Arkansas Department of Education for the current school year. High school seniors may enter as many scholarship competitions as they like.
  • Grade Point and Test Score Requirements
    Grade point average and test scores do not factor into consideration for a scholarship and need not be disclosed.
  • Major Requirement
    Scholarships will be awarded to the students institutions of choice, regardless of planned major. The student need not be majoring in an arts-related field to receive and utilize the scholarship. Violation of the declaration of student work as authentic will result in forfeiture of the scholarship application.
  • Colleges Accepting Thea Scholarships
    All accredited colleges, universities and institutes accept Thea Scholarships.
  • Education Partners
    See all of the colleges and universities that match Thea Scholarships.
  • Scholarship Awards
    All Thea scholarships are one-year scholarships. The entire scholarship amount is applied to the student's first semester of the freshman year.
  • Release of Scholarship Funds
    Scholarship checks are sent directly to the educational institution of the student’s choice when proof of full-time registration is received at the Thea offices and the funds are applied to the student’s account. All of the scholarship will be applied to the student’s account the first semester of the freshman year. Should the student not attend after registration and before classes begin, the scholarship funds might be returned to Thea. Students must register for full-time classes at an accredited educational institution on or before the second winter term after the scholarship is awarded.

    Students may defer their scholarship for a maximum of one (1) year and transfer funds for a maximum of one (1) time. If a student chooses to defer, (s)he must provide proof of graduation date. Exceptions may be taken at the discretion of Thea staff for extreme cases.