AETN PBS KIDS Writers Contest

All entries must be received by Friday, April 5 to be eligible.

It's time for the 2019 AETN PBS KIDS Writers Contest! Kids in Kindergarten through third grade have a chance to win a PBS KIDS Playtime Pad loaded with games, music and videos. Designed to promote the advancement of children's literacy skills, the Writers Contest empowers children in grades K-3 to celebrate creativity by writing and illustrating their own stories.

Arkansas teachers who submit entries from their class will be entered to win a visit from Clifford The Big Red Dog. Two teachers will be selected to receive a classroom set of five (5) PBS KIDS Playtime Pads to use in their classroom!.

image of Clifford
Win a chance for to visit your classroom!

First place winners will receive PBS KIDS Playtime Pad!
tablet device

Share the following posters and fliers with your friends, parents, teachers and librarians to spread the good news. Previous winning entries are available to inspire children during the brainstorming process. PBS LearningMedia also offers a collection of online resources for parents and educators that demonstrate the elements of story writing to students.


Arkansas students may submit stories by mail to AETN until Friday, April 5. Winners will be announced in May and featured on

Contest Rules

For your convenience, download and print the Contest Rules and Contest Entry Form.

  • Each entry must include the official AETN PBS KIDS Writers Contest Entry Form, with required signatures.
  • Entrants must be children in Kindergarten, first, second or third grade.
  • Only one entry per person.
  • Must be a legal resident of the 50 U.S. states.
  • Single author submissions only (no co-authoring).
  • Fact or fiction, prose or poetry
  • Word count:
    • K-1st must have a minimum of 50 words, maximum of 200 words.
    • 2nd - 3rd grades must have a minimum of 100 words, maximum of 350 words.
  • Title page words do not count toward word count.
  • Children can dictate their story to be printed.
  • Invented spelling is accepted.
  • Non-english text must be translated.
  • Stories must have at least five original, clear and colorful illustrations.
  • Original art can include drawings, collages, and 3-D art or photographs taken by the author.
  • Stories must be created on one side of the paper and numbered on the back of each page.

2018 Writer's Contest Winners

Grade 1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place
Kindergarten Holden Dunn of North Little Rock
"The Magic Flashlight"
Spencer Lowe of Mayflower
"My Sister's Super Power is a Rainbow"
Bennett Green of Maumelle
"Sam's Super Power"
1st Grade Ariq Huq of Conway
"The Animal Restaurant"
Sydney Rogers of El Dorado
"Cilia Sees Again"
Haden Rogers of Harrison
"The Adventurous Dog"
2nd Grade Josiah Williams of El Dorado
"I Wish (A Snail’s Tale)"
Brooklyn Witherow of Sherwood
"A Rough Road to the Top"
Evie Fulmer of Conway
"First Day of Being A Tooth Fairy"
3rd Grade Hunter Rogers of Harrison
"Frank the Frog
Olivia Wright of Springdale
"Baking with Gigi
Khylee Houston of Little Rock
"Athena Gets into Trouble"

2017 Writer's Contest Winners

Grade 1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place
Kindergarten Jayce Carter of Little Rock
"Fish Friends"
Campbell Beazley of Little Rock
"Grab the Moon"
Madeline Smeds of Little Rock
"The Princess and the Bowling Ball"
1st Grade Hailey Shelton of Lonoke
"The Lost Girl"
Brooklyn Witherow of Little Rock
"Two Friends Are Better Than One"
Nadia Ali of Cabot
"Mr. Snaggletooth and the Missing Orange Mystery"
2nd Grade Ashley Carter of Little Rock
"Milo the Magnificent Dragon"
Sophia LaPlant of Rogers
"The Strange Chicken"
Allie Garrett of Austin
"The Shade Cloud"
3rd Grade Ryker Schmidt of Bentonville
"Never Happily Ever After
Jana Abdin of Little Rock
"The Haunted Emerald Castle
Lula Stephens of Vilonia
"The Little Girl vs. the Big Crack"

2016 Writer's Contest Winners

Grade 1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place
Kindergarten Aiyah Miller of Little Rock
"The Girl Who Didn't Brush Her Hair"
Yahya Sridjajamerta of Fayetteville
"The Police"
Charlotte Shelton of Lonoke
"Hiccup Saves the Day"
1st Grade Jordan Murray of Conway
"Phil the Skunk"
Ashley Carter of Little Rock
"The Magical Dress"
Raney Martensen of Little Rock
"A Cat Went Fishing"
2nd Grade Aleksandra Bogan of Little Rock
"Magic Tent"
Jessica Liao of Fayetteville
"Jessica Moving to Arkansas"
Neelie Kindt of Hot Springs
"The Beautiful Egg"
3rd Grade Keynes Wright of Bentonville
"Boy in the Island
Allison Walker of Benton
"Where Is Bella?
Jaidyn Moy of Bentonville
"Attack of Candy City"

2015 Writer's Contest Winners

Grade 1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place
Kindergarten Daniel Koshy of Bryant
"Can I Keep Him?: Dan and Slider"
Aliza Ahouse of Morrilton
Uriah Fife of Drasco
"Dirt Bikes Rock"
1st Grade Cora Henry of Little Rock
"The Mouse Who Couldn't Find A House"
Abid Asif of Little Rock
"Super Baby To The Rescue"
Ava Wigger of Kingston
"Violet and the River Lesson"
2nd Grade Isabella Nguyen of Little Rock
"Be Yourself"
Abby Rose Chenault of North Little Rock
"Mia The Monster Mermaid"
Johnna Hardin of Jonesboro
"The Toothfairy's Day Off"
3rd Grade Kaeton Kirk of Star City
"Spark's Firery Adventure
Kaylee Hardin of Jonesboro
"The Magical Peppermint
Kenzie Daniels of Mena
"The Adventure of Rosie Raindrop"

2014 Writer's Contest Winners

Grade 1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place
Kindergarten Talia Augustine of Conway
"The Three Friends"
Kylie Woodworth of Harrison
"Baby Choking"
Tyler McMahen of Harrison
"Baby Goats - Too Big!"
1st Grade Kall'el Houston of Little Rock
"Super Circle Saves Shapeville"
Kolby Stoner of Rogers
"How My Dad Works"
Jacquelyn Cuellar of Nashville
"The Day at the Circus"
2nd Grade Hailey Emerson of Mena
"Bird and Worm"
Jameel Wesley,II of Maumelle
"James Learns the Game"
Michael McLean of Booneville
"The Best Story You Ever Read Because it's Written by Me"
3rd Grade Mabel Wise of Rogers
"Cloudy and the Busy Street"
Kaleb Young of Batesville
"The Adventures of Captain Cross"
Patrick Gentry of Hensley
Last Updated 29 Jan 2019