Arkansas Women's Hall of Fame: Special Presentation

Meet some of the incredible Arkansas women who have been inducted into the Arkansas Women's Hall of Fame in a special program.

AETN, in partnership with the Arkansas Women's Hall of Fame has a new digital series featuring Hall of Fame inductees. Watch weekly on Wednesdays to meet Arkansas women who have helped shape our state in incredible ways.

Visit each Wednesday for a new segment.

logo graphic

Episode Listing

  • Arkansas Women's Hall of Fame: Maya Angelou
    Best known for her memoir I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, Maya Angelou was also a recipient of the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the National Medal of Arts, the National Book Foundation’s Literarian Award and more than 50 honorary doctorates.
  • Arkansas Women's Hall of Fame: Raye Montague
    “Aim for the stars. At the very worst, you’ll land on the moon.” As an engineer and graphics designer for the U.S. Navy, Raye Montague lived by those words from her eighth-grade history teacher. Find out more about the woman who created the first computer generated draft of a U.S. Navy ship.
  • Arkansas Women's Hall of Fame: Joanna Seibert
    For Dr. Joanna Seibert —longtime Arkansas Children's Hospital and UAMS - University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences physicianand Episcopal deacon — the scientific and the sacred are closely linked.
  • Arkansas Women's Hall of Fame: Dr. Sue Griffin
    Learn more about Dr. Griffin’s extraordinary work in neurobiology and how her neurodegenerative disease research has led to significant breakthroughs in the early detection and treatment of Alzheimer's disease.
  • Arkansas Women's Hall of Fame: Dr. Joycelyn Elders
    Dr. Joycelyn Elders, the first African-American U.S. Surgeon General and UAMS - University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences professor emerita, shares how others supported her education at Philander Smith College and how Dr. Edith Irby Jones inspired her medical career.
  • Arkansas Women's Hall of Fame: Dr. Edith Irby Jones
    When we give of ourselves, we pave the way for others. Dr. Edith Irby Jones was a trailblazer on so many fronts: the first African-American to attend UAMS - University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, the first black female resident at Baylor University and the first female president of The National Medical Association.
  • Arkansas Women's Hall of Fame: Alice Walton
    Learn more about Alice Walton's work as the founder and chair of Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art, and her hope to uplift the image that Arkansans have of themselves.
  • Arkansas Women's Hall of Fame: Daisy Bates
    Hate can overcome us, or it can motivate us. When Daisy Gatson Bates' mother was raped and murdered — and the attackers weren't prosecuted — it lit a fire under Daisy. Learn how tragedy inspired Daisy Gatson Bates to battle inequality and become a pivotal figure in the civil rights movement.
  • Arkansas Women's Hall of Fame: Hattie Caraway
    Her nickname may have been "Silent Hattie," but when Sen. Caraway spoke, her voice was loud and clear. Hattie Caraway became the first woman elected to the U.S. Senate — as well as the first to preside over the Senate, chair a Senate committee and preside over a Senate hearing.

Arkansas Educational Television Network

KAFT 13 Fayetteville | KEMV 6 Mountain View | KTEJ 19 Jonesboro | KETS 2 Little Rock | KETG 9 Arkadelphia | KETZ 12 El Dorado
350 S. Donaghey | Conway, AR 72034 | (800) 662-2386 | (501) 682-2386 |

Accessibility | Privacy | Security | Acceptable Use